Readercon 21 Rundown

Sara and I just got back from Readercon. It was great this year, starting with some great panels and ending with Spain’s glorious victory over the Dutch. Gol!

I got to attend a discussion with Samuel R. Delany, who talked expansively about writing in general and his new novel that comes out next year. The discussion was great, and I even got to ask him a question without making myself sound like a complete ass. As terrifying as meeting your idols may be, if you get the chance, take it.

I also got to sit in on a great discussion with James Morrow later in the weekend, where he talked about sundry interesting things, including steampunk, the Titanic, his new novel, and the scientific method. I am a great admirer of Morrow’s because there are apparently no limits to his creativity and his daring. Towing Jehovah is one of my favorite books. The novel he is working on now (involving Darwin) sounds amazing.

I gave away three copies of Hiram Grange and the Digital Eucharist to poor, unsuspecting souls. People also took a bunch of fliers for all five Hiram volumes, which hopefully will compel them to pick up the complete set in a frenzy of online commerce.

Got books signed by Paolo Bacigalupi, Peter Straub, John Crowley, and James Morrow.

Readercon has the best dealer’s room; every table simply makes your inner bibliophile drool with envy. Alas, like last year, I didn’t buy that much because we were going home via the bus and subway, and everything I bought would have to be carried (along with all the books I brought from home to be signed). I seriously need a book caddy.

These are the books I got:

  • The Third Bear, Jeff VanderMeer
  • Strange Itineraries, Tim Powers
  • Shambling Toward Hiroshima, James Morrow
  • Darkness, ed. Ellen Datlow
  • The Jewel-Hinged Jaw, Samuel R. Delany
  • About Writing, Samuel R. Delany
  • Star-Maker, Olaf Stapledon
Leave a Reply

