Hugo Nominations and My Sundry Picks

on

The Hugo nominations have been released. (The list on Locus Online).

I am woefully behind on my current reading, so I can’t make selections for every category. I’m not voting anyway, so no harm done.
I think Glasshouse should win because it is another great book by Stross. (I’ve heard many great things about Blindsight, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, and there is nothing on the list that would put me into fits of anger were it to win.)

Paul Melko’s “The Walls of the Universe” should win for novella.

I’ll try to read all the nominees for short forms and make my predictions.

Lou Anders should win for editor. Nothing against the other nominees, but Pyr is publishing some of the best SF today (and introducing the U.S. to some great British authors.) I’ve actually started buying books just because of the Pyr logo.

And Interzone should win best semiprozine.

Leave a Reply

